Recently we shared an awesome evening with some friends of ours who share a common interest. If you’ve read my blog, you already know what that commonality is.

international_adoption_china.jpg (640×375)

 

Several years ago, this sweet couple adopted a little girl from China.  Reece and I have known them for years, but now something drew us all together.  All night long, the four of us reveled in this adoption journey going through videos, pictures and keepsakes from their trip to China. It was a great night for many reasons–but perhaps the biggest was our shared passion.

In the beginning of this adoption journey, I thought everyone would relate to our enthusiasm.  I was hungry for someone to share in our interest, someone moved by the same cadence of spirit, who knew where we were coming from and related to this decision to adopt a kiddo from China.  What I quickly realized was…not everyone can relate to this.

Each of us has a passion.  Maybe it’s hiking or stamp collecting…heck I knew a guy who loved to crumple paper, but the point is, your passion is yours and may not translate to others.  I’m confused with Pokemon but millions of kids (mine included) love that stuff.  To me, watching a Pokemon cartoon is about as interesting as shopping for shoes,  but my kids and wife are passionate about these things, so who am I to judge?

1341784549_pokemon-forever.jpg (1024×768)

Obviously, adoption is different, but is it really?  We are all called for something, whether it’s saving a child or manatee, solider or post office, redwood or tata…http://savethetatas.info/   Who’s to say which of these things is more important?  I would say the child but someone else may see it differently and I really can’t blame them.

If someone is going on and on about something they love, why not join in?  Why not bring something to the conversation?  Well, because it’s a passion you really can’t relate to.  You can try to be cordial, asking questions in support of your friend, but in the end it’s their mission and their passion…not yours.  If you told me a year ago that I would spend one entire evening of my life talking about Chinese adoptions, I would have answered like my 8-year-old daughter, “Yeah Right!”  But a passion like mine cannot be described unless you have it in you.

So the next time I’m rambling about China and see that glazed-over look creeping into your eyes, it won’t bother me.  Why should it?  This isn’t your mission, this is my mission and I’m driven by a different motive…different meaning and purpose…one that’s unique to me.

What’s your passion?

